Musical Monday: The Is That You FTIsland? Edition

6 Apr

FTisland

Huh. Well, that’s new. FTIsland has been around in the news for a few weeks, or more so the face of FTIsland (anyone else surprised to realize he’s not actually the leader?), being pretty cranky. He’s been upset with the sort of music they’ve had to play and with the endless comparison and being pitted against label mates CNBlue.

I understand where he’s coming from, it can’t be easy.

This new release is said to be the sort of music that FTIsland has always wanted to do–harder–without that ‘FTIsland’ sound. I’m not sure what makes an FTIsland sound, but I will say if a song comes over the speakers I can tell you if it’s FTIsland or not because I always thought–from CD to CD–they were always a little similar. Now is that a good thing or a bad thing? A good thing if you like that original music and probably a bad thing if your a band member who wants to do something else.

Now here’s the question: Do I like the song? I’m not sure if I do. And it’s not that I’m addicted to Kpop-popy-ness. In my regular English music, rock and indie is what I go for. But this? It might just be the song itself? I think I’m going to go out and find more songs from this release to give them a listen and see what I think. But whatever the case, if this is the sort of music that makes Hongki and the band happy, then all the power to them!

FTIsland, Pray

So what do you think? Do you like this or prefer their older music?

6 Responses to “Musical Monday: The Is That You FTIsland? Edition”

  1. Heather in Ohio April 6, 2015 at 12:52 pm #

    I have always loved Lee Hongki’s voice but not always the type of songs but this album I have enjoyed more than the others.

    Like

  2. humbledaisy1 April 6, 2015 at 12:58 pm #

    I have no FTIsland music so I have no hat in this ring. However, I’ve been watching/listening to a lot of jdrama/jpop right now (probably a hangover from the OKC) and this sounds a lot like One OK Rock or my (embarrassingly) favorite Mucc. (Psst! Yukke rocks!)
    Maybe they are rocking out for the Japanese market? And, lets face it, they can’t be little boys forever – maybe they are trying to market themselves as men.

    Like

    • Heather in Ohio April 6, 2015 at 2:19 pm #

      Humbledaisy1 you are sooo right..I also happen to be an one ok rock fan and Lee Honggi and One ok Rock are known to be friends. Maybe if the gods smile on us FT Island and One Ok Rock will perform together someday in the US

      Like

    • crazyforkdrama April 13, 2015 at 2:24 pm #

      According to Cherry Cordial–you are super right. Apparently, this is the sort of music they do for their Japan releases and have always wanted to do in Korea. Good ear!

      Like

  3. anglvue April 6, 2015 at 3:16 pm #

    I’ve only listened to a few of their songs but I’d be more willing to listen if this is what they’re offering up.

    Like

  4. Brenda April 6, 2015 at 7:18 pm #

    This new sound reminds me of the Warped Tour bands my daughter used to listen to. Madina Lake, for instance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1Lfd8bZS60

    Like

Leave a Reply

