What A Difference A Character Picture Makes

16 Sep

Joo-Won1*Mind-Blown*

First images of the upcoming remake of the Japanese drama Nodame Cantible (now Tomorrow Cantabile) have been released, and although they are only of Joo Won, he is looking so mighty fine, so dandy as his character in the taken down tuxedo, it made me stop in my place.

It made my stance of “no way in h-e-double hockey sticks am I ever watching what I assume will be a piece of crap drama” shift slightly to “well, maybe, just maybe, this won’t be as bad as I think it will. Maybe.”

I am not one of those people who will automatically watch something because a bias of the moment is starring in it. See, I’ve never watched Iris for T.O.P, Athena for Jung Woo Sung, Baker King for Yoon Shi Yoon, or pretty much any of Lee Min Ho’s backlist for a gander at his pretty, pretty face. My drama watching time is short, too short to squander on just eye candy. So me being so effected by these pictures is weird.

Joo-Won2
You know what I think it is? First off, I don’t think it’s Joo Won himself, while dashing, he seems just a little too old for the part. I actually think that these pictures remind me of the things I did like of the Japanese version. I really liked the character of Chiaki, now Cha Yoo Jin for the Korean version. I liked his character growth, I loved the orchestra and how eager and happy they were just to be there, but realistic about the reality of their futures–and what that taught Chiaki.

With 16 episodes maybe this drama can draw out the abbreviated storylines. Or maybe they can give some of that extra time to giving the heroine a reason to be there. And there is also the fact that dramas, when they make the leap from Japan to Korea tend to have the slapstick be toned down a bit, so maybe they won’t have the hero smacking the heroine around so much.

One can hope.

Considering the fact that we have just under a month before Tomorrow Nodame premiers (after the end of Discovery Romance) I’m sure we’re about to get more promotional things like posters and teasers thrown at us, so we’ll see just whether this change of stance will stick or if I’m kidding myself and it’s temporary blindness brought on by Joo Won.

Leave a Reply

