The Next Big Deal

19 Feb
Sheee’s back! And apparently this time—she’s going to be bigger than ever. The buzz around the water cooler is that the ink hasn’t even dried on the last episode of Heirsand Kim Eun Suk, the mega hit maker has already signed onto her next drama. And it’s going to be a big one.
Now there was one time where I would have been completely thrilled by this news.  After watchingA Gentleman’s Dignity I honestly thought Kim Eun Suk was my favorite writers—but then I started seeing more of her other work—Secret Garden, which, yes, lots of people love, and while I didn’t hate it, I had some problems with it. After watching On Airmy esteem sank more. And thenHeirshappened. This has all forced me to even remove the rose colored glasses, look deep into the heart of A Gentleman’s Dignity and admit to its flaws as well.
The bloom is off this rose.

But you can’t deny that Kim Eun Suk is the number one hit maker out there, right now I’ll pretty easily say she’s hotter than the Hong Sisters. So when news is released that she’s already working on her next project, we’re just going to have to take notice. Especially when this drama is going completely against the norm.
First off. She’s going to be writing this with a partner.  Kim Won Seok who most recently penned the critically acclaimed and yet not as well known, Queen’s Classroom. As from everything I’ve heard that drama was known for its interesting and complex characters. Which makes me wonder? Why is Kim Eun Suk looking to partner with someone with the same strengths as her own? Characters Kim Eun Suk has down, she doesn’t need any help on that. I think it would have made more sense if she’d partnered with someone who had a stronger background in plotting, which frankly, Kim Eun Suk could be helped with.
Second. The drama is going to completely be pre-produced. This just does not happen in the current Kdrama world—unless you’re the random cable drama. The live shoot method is crazy and potentially very dangerous, but is preferred as productions want to be able to gauge viewer’s reactions and possibly be able to change things to suit ratings. I think that Kim Eun Suk, with her popularity track record, is the only writer who can get away from this. Her dramas have become ‘must see TV’ and I’m sure that she and producers believe she could put just about anything out there and people will watch. (Hrm… and after Heirs I’m apt to believe that.)
We can only hope that this method does well and it begins to spread around the rest of the production houses. There is nothing more irritating than actually being able to see where preproduction stopped and live shooting began due to a dip in quality.
Third. The drama is actually being produced by a film production company. So if anything, we can hope that this will be filmed in high quality? There’s nothing I hate worse than when a Kdrama uses a bad camera. Remember Faith? From the very first the visuals actually kept me from getting into the story.
Descended from the Sun is going to be a large scale (which pretty much goes without saying for Kim Eun Suk as everything she does now is on a large scale) melodrama about two people who help in disaster areas. And I hate to say this. I really, really hate to say this.
It’s poked at my interest.
WAAAH. I do not want to be lured in on another Kim Eun Suk drama. I had just gotten it out of my system! That’s the thing, she lures me in with well-developed characters, a great romance, witty dialog, and let’s not forget all that skinship. But there is always something that falls flat in the execution of it. I can say, “Yes, watch City Hall,” but then I remember when it got super-crazy angsty towards the end. I can say “Yes, watch A Gentleman’s Dignity”, but then I remember the roommate storyline that drove me crazy, and it again gets super-crazy angsty towards the end. (F-it you should still go watch AGD.) I couldn’t even watch Heirsafter that first episode—although to be honest I’m not a huge fan of high school dramas so I was really colored by that.
Descended from the Sun sounds like it will be a serious drama about the lives of serious adults. I am so partial to dramas with older characters as they tend to lack the slapstick that I find annoying and are a little more relatable. While my interest is up, I’m going to try very hard not to drink the Kool-Aid again and remember my very logical reasons for not watching another one of her dramas.
Luckily, I have lots of time to bolster my resolve as the drama isn’t due to be released until 2015.
And I already feel bad for whoever the poor drama is that will be cast against this! It never stood a chance…
Leave a Reply

