Song Joong Ki–Say It Ain’t So! My First Loss to Military Service

31 Jul
skk20_010What?? Nooo! I’m wrecked. It was announced today that Song Joong-ki is headed off to do his military duty. Now, I’ll give you a moment to recover from your sobs…
.
.
.
.’
Are you ready? Go ahead, take your time.
.
.
.

All better? I know, I went through the same thing when I first heard. For those of you who have been in the depths of your Kdrama addiction for longer than I have, have probably been through this experience already. You know what I’m talking about, the first time one of your biases takes their leave for their requisite 2 years? Well this is my very first. I knew it was bound to happen eventually, it’s just something as a kdrama/kpop fan you have to prepare yourself for. I just never expected it was going to be Song Joong Ki. Why? Because with his round baby face he still looks so young! I mean for realz, I never had him as a Khottie since he looks a lot younger than he actually is. But I guess there’s never going to be a perfect person for this to happen. I would have been sad no matter who it ended up being. Honestly, with the rumors going around I thought my first was going to be Junsu. (Lets keep our fingers crossed on that one…)

From the man himself: “How are you? This is Song Joong Ki. Recently, I received the enlistment notice from the Military Manpower Administration. I will enlist on August 27. I will conclude my promotional activities well during the time I have left and plan to enter the training facility. I sincerely thank everyone who has supported and loved me. Since I can’t give my farewell greeting to each and every one of you, I am delivering my thankful heart through this message. I will return after carrying out my military duties for 2 years. ^^ Until I can greet you all with a good production, please be healthy and well.”
You know what I thought of–I’m guessing a lot of stars are wishing they’d hit their service about 2 years ago–you know, before the other stars in the military went and messed everything up for the rest of them, getting the media corps shut down.
Well, I hope that everything goes well for him. Since he’s coming off the accolades from last year’s drama, Nice Guy, it’s pretty much a given he’s going to be hugely sought after when he gets out. So I’ll guess we’ll see you in 2 years.
Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to find another tissue.
Leave a Reply

