Show Introduction: Flower Boy Ramyun Shop

8 May

Flower-Boy-Ramyun-Shop003Now that we have New Heart under our belts, I’m looking at the review schedule and I’m surprised at all the popular ones coming up. I must have hit a Kdrama watching streak last year. Think I’m kidding? Check it out: Flower Boy Ramyun Shop, Answer Me 1997, Shut up Flower Boy Band, Arang and the Magistrate, Queen In Hyun’s Man.

Holy Moly, that’s some awesome TV.

Up next is Flower Boy Ramyun Shop, the first in the hit Oh Boy series (which includes Shut Up Flower Boy Band and Flower Boy Next Door). While I like Ramyun Shop, it’s not my favorite of the series. It’s really enjoyable and has a pretty smokin’ K-kiss (thank you cable), but the love triangle irritated me a bit as the story went on.*ducks head* I know, this isn’t a very popular feeling, as I know this show is in many a Kdrama fan’s top 3 list.

However, Ramyun Shop will always have a very special place in my heart. Back when I first started watching Kdrama and signed up forDramaFever, it was being simulcast and I couldn’t wait for the to be done so I could watch (even then I wouldn’t do simulcasts). I remember seeing the cuteness of the poster taunting me on my Roku box every time I turned it on.

This is also my very first (and still only) Il Jung Woo drama. After hearing so much about him, I’m happy to say he is as cute as a button and a really good actor. I’ve been trying to getReturn of Iljimae to come up on Operation: Kdrama Chat so I can catch him in something else. No luck so far, but don’t you worry, I’m going to keep trying.

I can’t wait to watch Flower Boy Ramyun Shop again, to see if it holds up and to compare it to the other Oh Boy! shows I’ve now seen. Except this time? I’m not eating gluten so the food shots are going to be torture! Hrm…

Stats:
Flower Boy Ramyun Shop (or Cool Guys, Hot Ramen) is a 16 episode romantic comedy from tvN which broadcast from 8/31/11-12/20/11.

Synopsis From DramaFever
Cha Chi Soo is an arrogant high school student who happens to be the heir of the biggest food conglomerate in Korea. Yang Eun Bi is a university student preparing for her civil service exam. Attracted to each other initially, Eun Bi ends up student teaching in Chi Soo’s high school, where she is turned off by his arrogance. Later, the two find themselves together again when they both end up working at a ramen shop where only “flowerboys “—or “pretty boys “—are said to work. Eun Bi’s father hopes that she and the ramen shop owner, Gang Hyuk, will become an item—little does he know that Eun Bi is growing closer to Gang Hyuk’s half-brother, Chi Soo. Complete with a lot of twists and turns, this love triangle unfolds over a backdrop of good food and fun.

A pretty awesome trailer:

Leave a Reply

